Grum Presents: 20 Years Of Anjunabeats (Continuous Mix)

Posted by

Born and bred in London, Anjunabeats started life as a university project in the year 2000. Today, Anjunabeats is one of the world’s best-loved dance labels. Over 700 releases spanning two decades wear the iconic Anjuna ‘A’.

To celebrate, they’ve opened the vault for a handpicked group of artists from the label’s 20-year history. Each artist will sift through thousands of hours of music to create a definitive, mix of their all-time favourite Anjunabeats releases.

On 3 September, Grum delivers the eighth mix in the series.

“Graeme Shepherd heralds from Glasgow in Scotland, where they pronounce his real name like his artist name. He already had an impressive career before he signed to Anjunabeats, his debut 2010 album ‘Heartbeats’ earned him “Best Electronic Artist of the Year” from iTunes UK. He’d already delivered a prestigious BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix and was touring the world.

We eventually managed to attract him to the label in 2015 after chatting with him over a glass of whisky one night after a gig we were both playing at, and we are so glad we did. It was clear from hearing him play and talking to him that his roots go back to the very start of the clubbing scene and he has great respect for the trailblazers who conjured trance and progressive sounds out of house music. He was talking our language.

Grum neatly filled a hole in our label between Deep and Beats and rapidly started to fill it in with some awesome progressive trance tunes, inspiring a resurgence of the sound with his label mates.

You’ll find some plum examples of Grum’s dark, driving twist on the progressive sound in his 20 Years mix. Keep them coming, mate!” – Above & Beyond

“Although I’m a relatively new member of the Anjuna family, I quickly felt at home amongst so many genuine fans and artists, and such a forward-thinking label. The tracks I selected are some of my all-time Anjuna favourites, representing some of the artists which helped define Anjunabeats for me, and then finishing with some of my own contributions. I’m honoured to be a part of Anjunabeats 20 – here’s to another 20 years!” – Grum

Grum Presents: 20 Years Of Anjunabeats is available worldwide on Thursday, September 3.

  1. [00:00] Komytea – Professional Killers
  2. [07:13] Rolo Green – Napier
  3. [11:47] Paul Keeley – A Sort Of Homecoming (Michael Cassette Remix)
  4. [16:19] Bart Claessen – Elf
  5. [23:52] Mat Zo – Superman
  6. [29:50] Arty – Rush (Original Tech Mix)
  7. [35:50] Mat Zo – Lucky Strike
  8. [41:53] Slusnik Luna – Sun 2011
  9. [49:11] Grum – Shout
  10. [53:26] Grum & Genix – The Light
  11. [58:41] Grum – U

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s